Interview with @reneepaceYA Renee Pace, Author of The Forsaken

Today I’m presenting an interview with author Renee Pace about her novel, The Forsaken.

TheForsaken

About The Book

Fighting for freedom means falling from grace.

After taking up arms in a heavenly war, teen angel Isabella is banished to Earth. Her penance: to live as an immortal teenager. Her objective: to create a safe haven for her fellow exiled angels who believe in her mantra of independence. Faced with life on the mortal plane, she and her girls form a rock band as a means to literally sing for their supper.

But when Isabella saves a fallen male angel, things fall apart. If she thought her penance was hard before, she’s got an even harder path to follow now that she realizes Nathan is her soul mate—and that he holds the key to returning her to the heavenly realm. But she has no intention of going anywhere if it means leaving her sisters alone in exile. Until she discovers a hellish plan to amass a human-turned-demon army. Now she must convince the very angels who cast her out that war can no longer be avoided—if they want to survive…

***

Where did you get your original inspiration for The Forsaken, and what makes this book original from other paranormal novels?

 

The Forsaken actually started in church. It’s here I should confess that I attend church more for my husband’s sake and my children and while I try to enjoy it I often find my mind wondering, especially during those very long sermons. The Forsaken came from my angst with religious right and wrong and duty which is often part and parcel with any religion. What makes my YA different is that the focus is on women who are fighting for their own independent lives and who will continue to fight their destiny, even if that means saying no to love.

 

If you could have any paranormal attribute, what would it be?

I would love to be able to turn into a mermaid. The sea calls to me in ways I can’t explain. I had to ensure the second house I bought had a view of the Atlantic.

 

If one song out there could define your book, what would it be?

ABBA’s Chiquitita

 

If you met your main character at a bar, how would you interact?

I’d pour my drink all over him because no one tells me who I get to love.

 

If you could live in any literary universe, which would it be?

I want to be frozen and wake up in the year 3010

 

Are you a plotter or a pantser?

I’m a bit of both. When working on a series I need to plot but The Forsaken started out as me being a pantser.

 

How has writing changed your life?

Writing has made me more confident as a woman. I’m proud to say I’m a writer and I think having control over my own projects is key for me.

 

What advice do you have for aspiring writers?

Write and write some more. Find a great writing group to be involved with and get a critique partner. Write what you want and not what the market wants – she’s a fickle diva.

 ***

About The Author

I have the great pleasure of living in Halifax, Nova Scotia, which has a population of about 380,000. Halifax is almost like a mini-Boston (one of my fav cities to visit but I confess to loving San Francisco, CA the most) and sits on the Atlantic Ocean, which is what I get to look at as I write my young adult novels. I’m not a teen anymore by statistics only but I keep telling those people that I literally stopped counting when I hit twenty.

Things I do at home – dance around my kitchen (or dance anywhere, can you tell I’m a huge dancer and I have my very own rhythm and style, which sometimes embarrasses my friends but they still love me). I love to read. At the moment I’m reading Edward Rutherford’s latest novel, New York…I got hooked on him when I read Sarum about a dozen years ago. I’m also reading Rachel Hawthorne’s Dark Guardian Novel series and I can’t wait to get my hands on Kelley Armstrong’s Frostbitten novel.

I totally believe in – dragons (in the sea and air), fairies (let’s just say I’ve got some old family history happening there), Sirens and Titans (and no they aren’t mermaids, that’s only what common folks call them but true believers know what they really are and why they walk among us), the power of universal magic and most important on my list is soul love—when you find it, anchor it to your heart and never let it go.

I live my version of paranormal and it’s my reality. I hope you enjoy my worlds that my young adults enter and enjoy the journey of self-discovery many of them make.

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Leave a Reply

