Interview with @Georgia_McBride and Her Fantastic Novel Praefatio & Giveaway!

Today I have the distinct pleasure to host an interview with author and publisher extrordinaire, Georgia McBride! Her novel, Praefatio, has just released, and it is fantastic (if I do say so myself). Review to come.

About the Book

PRAEFATIO Cover

The story of 17-year-old Grace Ann Miller is that of no ordinary runaway. Touching upon topics such as mental illness, teen pregnancy, and the relationship between victims and abductors, this is Grace’s account of weeks on the run, falling in love, and losing everything but her faith. After being missing for weeks, Grace turns up on the estate of international rock star Gavin Vault, half-dressed and yelling for help. Over the course of 24 hours, she holds an entire police force captive with incredulous tales of angels, demons, and war, intent on saving Gavin from lockup and her family from worry over her safety. Instead, authorities believe that Grace is ill, the victim of assault and suffering from a severely fractured mind as a result of Stockholm Syndrome. Undeterred, Grace reveals the secret existence of dark angels on Earth, an ancient prophecy, and a wretched curse steeped in biblical myth. Her claims set into motion an ages-old war, pitting sister against brother and light versus darkness, resulting in blood, death, and the loss of everything that matters. Faced with corrupt police officers, eager doctors, and accusing journalists, Grace must convince all of them that her delusions are actually the truth, with nothing but her word as proof.

****

I had the chance to bombard Georgia with questions 😉

You wear so many hats. How do you manage to fit in all of the awesome work you do?

GM:  I’m pretty sure I’m failing miserably. I don’t sleep much, I eat very unhealthy things at odd hours and I get frequent headaches. That said, I try to dedicate one day/weekly to YALitChat – and that’s Wednesdays. The rest of the time is dedicated to being a publisher and author.

What was the first plot bunny that inspired Praefatio?

GM: They all came at one time – the girl with the incredulous story, the boy accused of unspeakable crimes and the incident that would change everything we believe.

If one song out there could define your book, what would it be?

GM: I listened to a ton of 30 Seconds to Mars while writing this book. I think A Beautiful Lie kind of sums it up though.

If you met your main character at a bar, how would you interact?

GM: First, I would be all fan girl and crazy. I know it. I have a major literary crush on Grace Ann Miller. I would be like, “Hey Girl. I created you. Don’t you love all those amazing kissing scenes I wrote for you?”

If you could live in any literary universe, which would it be?

GM: Wow. That’s a tough one. I think I would like to perhaps live in the world Delirium. Love hurts so much sometimes. People kill when they can’t have it. We wouldn’t have that problem.

Are you a plotter or a pantser?

GM:I hate plotting. Not gonna lie.

How has writing changed your life?

GM: Writing has brought be a wonderful community of people who are supportive. It has also afforded me the opportunity to do something I love – writing and publishing. It’s really been a blessing to me and many others.

What advice do you have for aspiring writers?

GM: Just write. Don’t worry about what others are writing or doing. Just write.

****

About the Author

Goergia McBride Photo

Georgia McBride is the founder of Month9Books, which publishes speculative fiction for teens and tweens, and YALITCHAT.ORG, a nonprofit organization fostering the advancement of young adult literature worldwide. She lives in Raleigh, North Carolina.

Book Links: Goodreads Barnes And Noble

Author Links: WebsiteFacebook PageTwitterPinterest

Month9Books: WebsiteBlogger CentralFacebookTwitterPinterestGoodreads
****
Enter HERE for a giveaway of Praefatio!
2 thoughts on “Interview with @Georgia_McBride and Her Fantastic Novel Praefatio & Giveaway!

Leave a Reply

