Interview with @Georgia_McBride and Her Fantastic Novel Praefatio & Giveaway!

Today I have the distinct pleasure to host an interview with author and publisher extrordinaire, Georgia McBride! Her novel, Praefatio, has just released, and it is fantastic (if I do say so myself). Review to come.

About the Book

PRAEFATIO Cover

The story of 17-year-old Grace Ann Miller is that of no ordinary runaway. Touching upon topics such as mental illness, teen pregnancy, and the relationship between victims and abductors, this is Grace’s account of weeks on the run, falling in love, and losing everything but her faith. After being missing for weeks, Grace turns up on the estate of international rock star Gavin Vault, half-dressed and yelling for help. Over the course of 24 hours, she holds an entire police force captive with incredulous tales of angels, demons, and war, intent on saving Gavin from lockup and her family from worry over her safety. Instead, authorities believe that Grace is ill, the victim of assault and suffering from a severely fractured mind as a result of Stockholm Syndrome. Undeterred, Grace reveals the secret existence of dark angels on Earth, an ancient prophecy, and a wretched curse steeped in biblical myth. Her claims set into motion an ages-old war, pitting sister against brother and light versus darkness, resulting in blood, death, and the loss of everything that matters. Faced with corrupt police officers, eager doctors, and accusing journalists, Grace must convince all of them that her delusions are actually the truth, with nothing but her word as proof.

****

I had the chance to bombard Georgia with questions 😉

You wear so many hats. How do you manage to fit in all of the awesome work you do?

GM:  I’m pretty sure I’m failing miserably. I don’t sleep much, I eat very unhealthy things at odd hours and I get frequent headaches. That said, I try to dedicate one day/weekly to YALitChat – and that’s Wednesdays. The rest of the time is dedicated to being a publisher and author.

What was the first plot bunny that inspired Praefatio?

GM: They all came at one time – the girl with the incredulous story, the boy accused of unspeakable crimes and the incident that would change everything we believe.

If one song out there could define your book, what would it be?

GM: I listened to a ton of 30 Seconds to Mars while writing this book. I think A Beautiful Lie kind of sums it up though.

If you met your main character at a bar, how would you interact?

GM: First, I would be all fan girl and crazy. I know it. I have a major literary crush on Grace Ann Miller. I would be like, “Hey Girl. I created you. Don’t you love all those amazing kissing scenes I wrote for you?”

If you could live in any literary universe, which would it be?

GM: Wow. That’s a tough one. I think I would like to perhaps live in the world Delirium. Love hurts so much sometimes. People kill when they can’t have it. We wouldn’t have that problem.

Are you a plotter or a pantser?

GM:I hate plotting. Not gonna lie.

How has writing changed your life?

GM: Writing has brought be a wonderful community of people who are supportive. It has also afforded me the opportunity to do something I love – writing and publishing. It’s really been a blessing to me and many others.

What advice do you have for aspiring writers?

GM: Just write. Don’t worry about what others are writing or doing. Just write.

****

About the Author

Goergia McBride Photo

Georgia McBride is the founder of Month9Books, which publishes speculative fiction for teens and tweens, and YALITCHAT.ORG, a nonprofit organization fostering the advancement of young adult literature worldwide. She lives in Raleigh, North Carolina.

Book Links: Goodreads Barnes And Noble

Author Links: WebsiteFacebook PageTwitterPinterest

Month9Books: WebsiteBlogger CentralFacebookTwitterPinterestGoodreads
****
Enter HERE for a giveaway of Praefatio!

Cover Reveal: SLEEPER by S.M. Johnston

sleeperHighRes

 

About The Book

After a life saving heart transplant, eighteen-year-old Mishca Richardson is plagued by nightmares and an urgent desire to find her birth parents, which she puts down to post-operation depression. But her new heart seems to bring more than a second chance at life in the form of speed, strength and love at first sight.

About The Author

Sharon is a writer from Mackay in Queensland, Australia who has short stories published in anthologies and was also runner-up in the Australian Literary Review’s Young Adult short story contest with KARMA. By day she is a public relations executive and by night she writes weird fiction and soulful contemporaries while her husband, two sons and cat are fast asleep.

Look for More

Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/authorsmjohnston
Twitter: http://twitter.com/S_M_Johnston
Website: http://www.smjohnston.com
Blog: www.downunderwonderings.blogspot.com

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4019418.S_M_Johnston

#CoverReveal Adorned by Georgeann Swiger

adornedHiRes

 

About the Book

When seventeen-year-old Anya finds out she’s actually an angel being trained to protect humanity, she discovers that becoming an angel has nothing to do with wings and haloes. For Anya, becoming an angel has to do with death—her death.

Micah, the angelic soldier ordered to protect her until she transitions from human to angel, promises her death will be a glorious experience as long as she follows his rules. But getting Anya through this life and to the next isn’t as simple as Micah expects. His job becomes even more difficult after he unwittingly performs a miracle that exposes Anya’s hidden angelic light.

With her secret out, Hell’s legions begin targeting her. Unfortunately, Hell’s minions are the least of Micah’s worries. He’s more concerned about the forbidden human emotions he’s developed toward Anya.  Even more troubling, is she seems to love him too. And giving in to those feelings, could mean dire consequences for them both.

 

About the Author

Georgeann Swiger earned her degree in journalism from West Virginia University, and then spent five years as an anchor/reporter at WBOY-TV in Clarksburg, WV.  After having children, she left television news to be a stay at home mom. During that time, she discovered creative writing was more fun than writing about real life tragedy.  Imagining interesting characters and having them come to life on the page is now her passion. When she’s not writing, she works as a substitute teacher.  She lives in Reedsville, West Virginia with her husband, two kids, a beagle dog and a temperamental cat who tries to rule the house.

 

Website: http://www.georgeannswiger.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Georgeann-Swiger/354944307955157

Twitter: https://twitter.com/GeorgeannSwiger

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/geoswager/

 

Find Adorned November 4th from Entranced Publishing

Interview with Sara Hubbard, #author of Blood, She Read

I’m proud to interview Sara Hubbard, author Blood, She Read.

1. Blood, She Read has a great structure to it and many elements; mystery, danger, paranormal. What was your original inspiration?

Gosh, it all started with one scene. Originally, a man came to Petra’s house in the dead of the night asking for Petra’s help. He was desperate to know his future, or rather the future of someone he loved. It took many false starts with this book before it became what it is now. And Dylan was originally a young boy who followed Petra around and wanted to learn magic from her. The more I wrote, the more I realized his young age couldn’t work with the story. The amount of material I cut from this story was probably upwards of 20,000 words, but it had to be done and I’m happy with the finished product.

2. How has your real life affected the setting of the story?

Well, I’ve lived in Nova Scotia for the majority of my life so I wanted to have a story set here. There are so many books out there now that are set in America and I wanted to do something different. Plus, I think sticking with what I know helped to add a little more character and realism to the story.

3. What do you think is the most magical thing about Nova Scotia?

Hmm. There are many things I love about Nova Scotia, but mostly, I love the oceans and the forests and that you can always smell one or the other no matter where you are.

4. If you could have one magic power, what would you choose?

I would love to be invisible. What fun it would be to see what people are doing when they think no one is looking?

5. What can we look forward to for Finn and Petra?

I think the next book will be a big surprise for fans of Petra and Finn, especially since Finn will be absent for the first half of the book. You can look forward to more time with Sebastian and Tommy and see some fun interactions between Gina and Sebastian. I love their relationship. It is so much fun to write. There will also be a new demon villain around too. He will make things…difficult for Petra. And for Tommy too.

6. What are your thoughts on the changing book industry, and how has it affected your publishing experience?

I love that eBooks are bigger now than they were five or ten years ago and that self-publishing is gaining more respect. This has opened up a lot of doors to people who might not have otherwise been noticed and/or published. It gives authors more options and more bargaining power and, hopefully, keeps more of the profits in the authors hands where they belong. Most of us authors write because we love it. Unless you’re a NYT bestseller, chances are you will have to have a second job to pay your bills (I’m one of those authors). This is a hard business so it’s nice to see the industry moving in a direction that helps the authors.

Many thanks to Sara, and go check out her book! It’s fantastic!

Kindle 

Kobo

Amazon

Petra Maras lives a charmed life, but only in the magical sense. Her absentee father is a
criminal, her mother is emotionally dead, and everyone at her new school knows
she comes from a family of witches. All she wants is to be normal, but that’s
impossible, given her family. And given that she’s psychic. When the police
request help with a murder investigation, Petra reluctantly agrees. Which isn’t
such a good idea since the prime suspect wants to date her, and she really wants
to say yes. Her gut says he’s innocent, but since she can’t get a read on him,
she can’t know for sure. And when she discovers he’s been keeping secrets, she
wonders if maybe she’s been following her heart instead of her head…

Find Sara at www.sara-hubbard.com